law "The Texas Safety Responsibility Act"
requires drivers to have basic liability coverage called
“25/50/25”. Should you become involved in a
collision in Texas, all three of the following conditions
must be met to avoid suspension of your driving privilege.
$25,000 for a single death or
$50,000 for death or injury to more than one person.
$25,000 for property damage.
Be ready to show
your insurance card if an officer asks you for it. You should
be aware that many out-of-state insurance companies are
not authorized to do business in Texas. Before you drive
here you should ask your insurance company if you are covered
in case of a collision. If you are involved in a collision
inform your insurance company right away.
you have a collision and you cannot prove financial responsibility,
you may be fined $350 and/or your license suspended. If
someone is not able to be identified and is driving your
car, you, the owner will have your driver's license suspended
if financial responsibility is not provided.